Transform your destiny

Hey Brother,

I was reading T.E Lawrence's letter to Eric Kennington last night.

For those who don't know who he is, T.E Lawrence was a British archaeologist, army officer, diplomat, and writer who became renowned for his role in the Arab Revolt and the Sinai and Palestine Campaign against the Ottoman Empire during the First World War.

What intrigued me about this man is his days after the war before his death.

After the end of the war, Lawrence was forced to come back to England but deep down...

He felt out of place even though he had friends that were renowned.

The likes of Winston Churchill, George Shaw and big names back then were his friends.

Why did he felt so out of place when he was literally a hero?

I will tell you why...

"Because he was bereft of purpose."

His mother accounts that he will most times stare vacantly at some object looking unmotivated.

Which brings me back to his letter to Eric Kennington which says;

"You wonder what I am doing? Well, so do I, in truth. Days seem to dawn, suns to shine, evenings to follow, and then I sleep. What I have done, what I am doing, what I am going to do, puzzle me and bewilder me. Have you ever been a leaf and fallen from your tree in autumn and been really puzzled about it. That's the feeling."

Like Lawrence, not having something like a purpose can be quite detrimental for a man.

But the most insidious is not having something to do as a man.

Despite our modernity, what holds true for us men is that "our souls cry out for a mission, purpose, just about anything that will make us feel whole and doing something for the greater good."

Find a work or anything cause that battle of resistance is what makes a man.

-MOS